Café since 1669
On the corner of Het Singel en de Droogbak is a house with an impressive stepped gable. It has no less than 23 steps. It was built between 1606 and 1611.
The house is now known as “the wheelbarrow” after the gable stone in the facade. This is a reference to the owner in 1641, the sailmaker Hendrik Cruywagen.
The house was also named “the cloverleaf” after the brewery of the same name that settled here. The house has also been known as “The Spanish House”. Allegedly Spanish words were carved in the attic beams, but they have never been found.
As early as 1669, a café was established in at least part of this house.